Fall 2019

Online and Matching-Based Market Design

Aug. 21Oct. 4, 2019

Economists have developed a deep and rich theory for understanding the evolution and operation of markets, as well as a bounty of empirical methodologies and practical solutions pertaining to particular settings. Computer scientists have developed the powerful "algorithmic way of thinking," which has become a key enabler of the sciences in this century, just as mathematics was in the last. Sophisticated algorithms, such as the stable matching algorithm, maximum matching algorithms, and algorithms for budgeted auctions, have been applied to centralized labor markets, auctions, financial exchanges, the allocation of public goods, etc. However, in the past, this progress proceeded with limited direct interaction between economists and computer scientists.

In recent years, a vibrant IT ecosystem together with the en masse relocation of our most important activities to online platforms has given birth to enormously influential and innovative online market structures, including online retail markets, ad auctions, short-term housing markets such as Airbnb, online labor markets such as Uber and Upwork, markets for virtual currencies such as Bitcoin and Ethereum, and markets for online dating such as OkCupid and These new applications require a truly interdisciplinary approach to market design. New algorithms include the specification of information available to consumers and feedback across time in dynamic mechanisms, in addition to the rules governing the aggregation of users’ responses. These new components suggest a new strategic environment, where fairness, transparency, and welfare are clear objectives.

As these markets occupy a rapidly increasing fraction of our economy, the time is ripe for bringing together market-design scholars from economics and computer science under the same roof for an extended period of time to address these challenges. This six-week program was designed to accomplish precisely that. 


Vijay Vazirani (UC Irvine; chair), Itai Ashlagi (Stanford University), Federico Echenique (California Institute of Technology), Nicole Immorlica (Microsoft Research), Leeat Yariv (Princeton University)

Long-Term Participants (including Organizers):

Itai Ashlagi (Stanford University), Siddhartha Banerjee (Cornell University), Francis Bloch (Paris School of Economics), Simina Brânzei (Purdue University), Caterina Calsamiglia (IPEG), Gabrielle Demange (Paris School of Economics), Federico Echenique (California Institute of Technology), Yuri Faenza (Columbia University), Jugal Garg (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign), Vasilis Gkatzelis (Drexel University), Martin Hoefer (Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main), Nicole Immorlica (Microsoft Research), Ramesh Johari (Stanford University), Yash Kanoria (Columbia University), Bettina Klaus (University of Lausanne), SangMok Lee (Washington University in St. Louis), Jacob Leshno (University of Chicago), Hongyao Ma (Uber (SF)), Vahideh Manshadi (Yale University), Nimrod Megiddo (IBM Almaden Research Center), Aranyak Mehta (Google), Seffi Naor (Technion – Israel Institute of Technology), Afshin Nikzad (UC Berkeley), Assaf Romm (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Daniela Saban (Stanford University), Amin Saberi (Stanford University), Barna Saha (UC Berkeley), Philipp Strack (UC Berkeley), Steve Tadelis (UC Berkeley), Olivier Tercieux (Paris School of Economics), Alexander Teytelboym (Oxford University), Vijay Vazirani (UC Irvine; chair), Rakesh Vohra (University of Pennsylvania), Gideon Weiss (The University of Haifa), Adam Wierman (California Institute of Technology), Yi Xin (Caltech), Leeat Yariv (Princeton University)

Research Fellows:

Nicholas Arnosti (Columbia University), Laura Doval (Caltech), Kira Goldner (Columbia University), Irene Lo (Stanford University), Tung Mai (UC Irvine)

Visiting Graduate Students and Postdocs:

Xiaowu Dai (UC Berkeley), Karthik Gajulapalli (UC Irvine), Chamsi Hssaine (Cornell University), Ravi Jagadeesan (Harvard University), Kshitij Kulkarni (UC Berkeley), James Liu (UC Irvine), Gregory Macnamara (Stanford University), Simon Mauras (IRIF), Divyarthi Mohan (Princeton University), Oren Reshef (UC Berkeley), Scott Rodilitz (Yale School of Management), Daniel Schoepflin (Drexel University), David Wajc (Carnegie Mellon University), Richard Xu (USC)


Wednesday, Sep. 4Friday, Sep. 6, 2019


Nikhil R. Devanur (Microsoft Research), Leeat Yariv (Princeton University)
Monday, Sep. 16Thursday, Sep. 19, 2019


Yash Kanoria (Columbia University), Steve Tadelis (UC Berkeley)
Tuesday, Oct. 1Thursday, Oct. 3, 2019


Dorothea Kübler (WZB Berlin Social Science Center; chair), David Parkes (Harvard University)
Monday, Mar. 1Wednesday, Mar. 3, 2021


Vijay Vazirani (UC Irvine; chair), Itai Ashlagi (Stanford University), Federico Echenique (California Institute of Technology), Nicole Immorlica (Microsoft Research), Leeat Yariv (Princeton University)

Past Internal Program Activities

Thursday, September 26th, 1:00 pm3:00 pm
Michael Jordan, Lydia Liu and Horia Mania
Tuesday, September 24th, 1:00 pm3:00 pm
Assaf Romm
Thursday, September 19th, 4:00 pm6:00 pm
Nick Arnosti
Thursday, September 12th, 1:00 pm3:00 pm
Gideon Weiss (The University of Haifa)
Tuesday, September 3rd, 11:00 am1:00 pm
Alex Teytelboym
Monday, August 26th, 11:00 am12:00 pm
Rakesh Vohra (University of Pennsylvania)