Fall 2014

Symbolic and Numerical Methods for Tensors and Representation Theory

Monday, Nov 17, 2014 to Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 

Add to Calendar


Alessandra Bernardi (University of Bologna), Anton Leykin (Georgia Institute of Technology), Luke Oeding (Auburn University), Claudiu Raicu (University of Notre Dame), Cynthia Vinzant (North Carolina State University)

Tensors touch upon many areas in mathematics and computer science. Though classical, the study of tensors has recently gained fresh momentum due to applications in such areas as complexity theory and algebraic statistics. Many concrete questions in the field remain open, and computational methods help expand the boundaries of our current understanding and drive progress in the area. This workshop will comprise lectures on theoretical and computational topics, with an emphasis on open problems, as well as sessions of coding and experimentation with the computer algebra system Macaulay2. Participants will have access to experts in both computer algebra techniques and representation theory and tensors.

Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop_alggeom4 [at] (at this address.)

Travel grants for graduate students:

A limited number of travel grants will be available for current graduate students. The deadline for applications was Friday, August 22. Applicants will be notified of decisions in early September. Please await confirmation of your acceptance to the workshop before booking your travel.

This workshop is co-sponsored by:

Mathematical Sciences Research Institute

Invited Participants: 

Hirotachi Abo (University of Idaho), Kashif Bari (San Diego State University), Roberto Barrera (Texas A&M University), Saugata Basu (Purdue University), Alessandra Bernardi (Università di Bologna), Selvi Beyarslan (Tulane University), Grigoriy Blekherman (Georgia Institute of Technology), Peter Bürgisser (Technische Universität Berlin), Diego Cifuentes (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Klim Efremenko (University of Chicago), David Eisenbud (Mathematical Sciences Research Institute), Ioannis Emiris (University of Athens), Daniel Erman (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Cameron Farnsworth (Texas A&M University), Michael Forbes (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Fulvio Gesmundo (Texas A&M University), Daniel Grayson (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Elizabeth Gross (San Jose State University), Yonghui Guan (Texas A&M University), Jonathan Hauenstein (University of Notre Dame), Martin Helmer (University of Western Ontario), María Isabel Herrero (Universidad de Buenos Aires), Emil Horobet (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven), Serkan Hosten (San Francisco State University), Christian Ikenmeyer (Texas A&M University), Fotis Iliopoulos (UC Berkeley), Shahrzad Jamshidi (Pennsylvania State University), Oscar Kivinen (Aalto University), Robert Krone (Georgia Institute of Technology), Kaie Kubjas (Aalto University), Mario Kummer (Universität Konstanz), Joseph Landsberg (Texas A&M University), Hon-Leung Lee (University of Washington), Hwangrae Lee (Pohang University of Science and Technology), Emily Leven (UC San Diego), Anton Leykin (Georgia Institute of Technology), Wei Li (Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences), Lek-Heng Lim (University of Chicago), Ricky Liu (University of Michigan), Gregorio Malajovich (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro), Mateusz Michalek (Polish Academy of Sciences), Jason Morton (Pennsylvania State University), Ketan Mulmuley (University of Chicago), Matthew Niemerg (Colorado State University), Luke Oeding (Auburn University), Giorgio Ottaviani (Università di Firenze), Greta Panova (University of Pennsylvania), Pablo Parrilo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Frank Permenter (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Elisa Postinghel (University of Leuven), Claudiu Raicu (University of Notre Dame), Benjamin Reames (Auburn University), Elina Robeva (UC Berkeley), Jose Rodriguez (University of Notre Dame), Zvi Rosen (UC Berkeley), Benjamin Rossman (National Institute of Informatics), Nicholas Ryder (UC Berkeley), Steven Sam (UC Berkeley), Erik Skau (North Carolina State University), Gregory Smith (Queen's University), Frank Sottile (Texas A&M University), Michael Stillman (Cornell University), Bernd Sturmfels (UC Berkeley), Mengyao Sun (Tulane University), Neriman Tokcan (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Jacob Turner (Pennsylvania State University), Emanuele Ventura (Aalto University), Cynthia Vinzant (University of Michigan), Benjamin Weitz (UC Berkeley), Ryan Williams (Stanford University), Virginia Vassilevska Williams (Stanford University), Ken Sze-Wai Wong (University of Chicago), Ke Ye (University of Chicago).