Fall 2015

Economics and Computation

Aug. 19Dec. 18, 2015
Economics and computer science have developed a remarkable number of points of contact over the past two decades. Some of these are directly motivated by applications such as large-scale digital auctions and markets, while others stem from fundamental questions such as the computational complexity of Nash equilibria and complexity and approximation in mechanism design. Many computer scientists have realized that to productively model and study the Internet and its novel computational phenomena, they need models and insights from disciplines such as game theory, economic theory, and sociology, while many economists have found that a computational point of view is essential to understand a world in which markets are networked and the default platforms of economic transactions are algorithmic. During these past 15 years, much has been accomplished, both in achieving a remarkable degree of communication and collaboration between the fields and in making progress through interdisciplinary work on many central research questions, such as studying the complexity of computing Nash and price equilibria, analyzing the efficiency of equilibria through the “price of anarchy,” and developing a computational theory of mechanism design that has informed the design of digital auctions. There is a consensus that the field is now ready for the next generation of problems and insights.

This was precisely the objective of this program: to further the interaction between theoretical computer scientists and economists so as to identify, articulate, and make progress on the new generation of research challenges at the intersection of the two fields.


Constantinos Daskalakis (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Noam Nisan (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Christos Papadimitriou (UC Berkeley), Tim Roughgarden (Stanford University), Ilya Segal (Stanford University), Chris Shannon (UC Berkeley), Éva Tardos (Cornell University)

Long-Term Participants (including Organizers):

Gabriel Carroll (Stanford University), Xi Chen (Columbia University), Giorgos Christodoulou (University of Liverpool), Richard Cole (New York University), Vincent Conitzer (Duke University), Constantinos Daskalakis (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Xiaotie Deng (Shanghai Jiao Tong University), Nikhil R. Devanur (Microsoft Research), Shahar Dobzinski (Weizmann Institute), Shaddin Dughmi (University of Southern California), Federico Echenique (California Institute of Technology), Edith Elkind (University of Oxford), Michal Feldman (Tel Aviv University), Amos Fiat (Tel Aviv University), Paul Goldberg (University of Oxford), Ramesh Johari (Stanford University), Ehud Kalai (Northwestern University), Ravi Kannan (Microsoft Research India), Anna Karlin (University of Washington), Elias Koutsoupias (University of Oxford), Ron Lavi (Technion Israel Institute of Technology), Stefano Leonardi (Sapienza University of Rome), Kevin Leyton-Brown (University of British Columbia), Katrina Ligett (Hebrew University and Caltech), Vangelis Markakis (Athens University of Economics and Business), Hervé Moulin (University of Glasgow), Evdokia Nikolova (University of Texas at Austin), Noam Nisan (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Sigal Oren (Ben Gurion University), Mallesh Pai (University of Pennsylvania), Christos Papadimitriou (UC Berkeley), David Parkes (Harvard University), Dmitrii Pasechnik (University of Oxford), Tim Roughgarden (Stanford University), Bill Sandholm (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Ilya Segal (Stanford University), Ella Segev (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev), Chris Shannon (UC Berkeley), Pingzhong Tang (Tsinghua University), Éva Tardos (Cornell University), Adrian Vetta (McGill University), Bernhard von Stengel (London School of Economics)

Research Fellows:

Simina Brânzei (Aarhus University), Yang Cai (McGill University), Vasilis Gkatzelis (Stanford University), Yash Kanoria (Columbia Business School), Ruta Mehta (Georgia Institute of Technology), Georgios Piliouras (Singapore University of Technology and Design), Daniela Saban (Stanford Graduate School of Business; Google Research Fellow), Matt Weinberg (Princeton University; Microsoft Research Fellow), Lirong Xia (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Visiting Graduate Students and Postdocs:

Hedyeh Beyhaghi (Cornell University), Zhe Feng (Harvard University), Kira Goldner (University of Washington), Nima Haghpanah (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Li Han (University of Southern California), Pooya Jalaly (Cornell University), Thodoris Lykouris (Cornell University), Christos-Alexandros Psomas (UC Berkeley), Aviad Rubinstein (UC Berkeley), Manuel Sabin (UC Berkeley), Nihar Shah (UC Berkeley), Warut Suksompong (Stanford University), Sam Wong (UC Berkeley), James Wright (University of British Columbia), Haifeng Xu (University of Southern California), Manolis Zampetakis (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)


Monday, Aug. 24Thursday, Aug. 27, 2015


Christos Papadimitriou (UC Berkeley), Tim Roughgarden (Stanford University)
Monday, Oct. 12Friday, Oct. 16, 2015


Éva Tardos (Cornell University; chair), Constantinos Daskalakis (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Noam Nisan (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Ilya Segal (Stanford University)
Monday, Nov. 16Friday, Nov. 20, 2015


Constantinos Daskalakis (Massachusetts Institute of Technology; chair), Eric Budish (University of Chicago), Panos Ipeirotis (New York University), Ramesh Johari (Stanford University), David Parkes (Harvard University), Tim Roughgarden (Stanford University)
Thursday, Apr. 27Friday, Apr. 28, 2017


Shaddin Dughmi (University of Southern California), Christos Papadimitriou (UC Berkeley), Tim Roughgarden (Stanford University), Matt Weinberg (Princeton University; Microsoft Research Fellow)

Past Internal Program Activities

Friday, December 11th, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Xi Alice Gao (University of British Columbia)
Tuesday, December 8th, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Richard Cole (New York University)
Friday, December 4th, 11:00 am1:00 pm
Ehud Kalai (Northwestern University)
Thursday, December 3rd, 11:00 am12:30 pm
Arvind Narayanan (Princeton University)
Monday, November 30th, 1:00 pm2:00 pm
Leonard Schulman (California Institute of Technology)
Tuesday, November 24th, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
James Wright (University of British Columbia)
Friday, November 13th, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Giorgos Christodoulou (University of Liverpool)
Friday, November 13th, 11:00 am12:30 pm
Tuomas Sandholm (Carnegie Mellon University)
Tuesday, November 10th, 1:15 pm3:00 pm
Herve Moulin (University of Glasgow).
Monday, November 9th, 8:45 am3:00 pm
Friday, November 6th, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Ruta Mehta (Georgia Institute of Technology)
Tuesday, November 3rd, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Pingzhong Tang (Tsinghua University)
Tuesday, October 27th, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Kevin Leyton-Brown (University of British Columbia)
Friday, October 23rd, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Lirong Xia (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
Friday, October 9th, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Nikhil Devanur (Microsoft Research)
Tuesday, October 6th, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Yashodhan Kanoria (Columbia Business School)
Friday, October 2nd, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Bill Sandholm (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Tuesday, September 29th, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Evdokia Nikolova (University of Texas at Austin)
Friday, September 25th, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Vasilis Syrgkanis (Microsoft Research)
Tuesday, September 22nd, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Shaddin Dughmi (University of Southern California)
Friday, September 18th, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Gabriel Carroll (Stanford University)
Tuesday, September 15th, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Vince Conitzer (Duke University)
Friday, September 11th, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Vasilis Gkatzelis (Stanford University)
Tuesday, September 8th, 2:00 pm3:30 pm
Vangelis Markakis (Athens University of Economics and Business)
Friday, September 4th, 2:00 pm5:00 pm
Nima Haghpanah (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)