Fall 2014

Spectral Algorithms: From Theory to Practice

Monday, Oct 27, 2014 to Friday, Oct 31, 2014 

Add to Calendar


Misha Belkin (Ohio State University; co-chair), James R. Lee (University of Washington; co-chair), Mauro Maggioni (Duke University), Gary Miller (Carnegie Mellon University)

Spectral clustering and graph partitioning algorithms are widely used in a diverse set of areas ranging from load balancing through image processing to computational genomics. This goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers from various application areas for spectral algorithms along with theoretical experts in spectral techniques. Through this interaction, the workshop aims to both identify computational problems of practical interest that warrant the design of new spectral algorithms with theoretical guarantees, and to identify the challenges in implementing sophisticated theoretical algorithms in practical scenarios.

Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop_spectral2 [at] (at this address.)

Support is gratefully acknowledged from:

Invited Participants: 

Nima Ahmadipouranari (UC Berkeley), Animashree Anandkumar (UC Irvine), Alexandr Andoni, Ery Arias-Castro (UC San Diego), Peter Bartlett (UC Berkeley), Misha Belkin (Ohio State University), Alex Bronstein (Tel Aviv University), Jonah Brown-Cohen (UC Berkeley), Moses Charikar (Princeton University), Yu Cheng (University of Southern California), Ho Yee Cheung (University of Southern California), Hui Han Chin (DSO National Laboratories), Fan Chung Graham (UC San Diego), Mihai Cucuringu (UCLA), Persi Diaconis (Stanford University), Ronen Eldan (University of Washington), Shayan Oveis Gharan (UC Berkeley), David Gleich (Purdue University), Dorit Hochbaum (UC Berkeley), Samuel Hopkins (Cornell University), Fotis Iliopoulos (UC Berkeley), Sham Kakade (Microsoft Research New England), Ravi Kannan (Microsoft Research India), Marc Khoury (UC Berkeley), Alexandra Kolla (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Risi Kondor (University of Chicago), Ioannis Koutis (University of Puerto Rico), Tsz Chiu Kwok (Chinese University of Hong Kong), Bundit Laekhanukit (McGill University), Lap Chi Lau (University of Waterloo), James Lee (University of Washington), Yin Tat Lee (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Lek-heng Lim (University of Chicago), Elon Lindenstrauss (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Aleksander Mądry (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Mauro Maggioni (Duke University), Konstantin Makarychev (Microsoft Research), Yury Makarychev (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago), Jitendra Malik (UC Berkeley), Raghu Meka, Gary Miller (Carnegie Mellon University), Andrea Montanari (Stanford University), Sayan Mukherjee (Duke University), Huy Nguyen (Princeton University), Lorenzo Orecchia (Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Boston University), Jakub Pachocki (Carnegie Mellon University), Pablo Parrilo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Richard Peng (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Christos-Alexandros Psomas (UC Berkeley), Luis Rademacher (Ohio State University), Prasad Raghavendra (UC Berkeley), Anup Rao (Yale University), Satish Rao (UC Berkeley), Margaret Reid-Miller (Carnegie Mellon University), Lorenzo Rosasco (Università di Genova and Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Aviad Rubinstein (UC Berkeley), Jonathan Shi (Cornell University), Seung Woo Shin (UC Berkeley), Aaron Sidford (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Anastasios Sidiropoulos (Ohio State University), Olivia Simpson (UC San Diego), Vikas Sindhwani (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center), Ali Sinop (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton), David Steurer (Cornell University), He Sun (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik), Kunal Talwar, Li-Yang Tan (Columbia University), Prasad Tetali (Georgia Institute of Technology), Luca Trevisan (UC Berkeley), Santosh Vempala (Georgia Institute of Technology), James Voss (Ohio State University), Shen Chen Xu (Carnegie Mellon University), Yuan Yao (Peking University), Bin Yu (UC Berkeley), Jerry Zhu (University of Wisconsin-Madison).