Spring 2015

Coding: From Practice to Theory

Monday, Feb 9, 2015 to Friday, Feb 13, 2015 

Add to Calendar


Alex Dimakis (University of Texas, Austin; co-chair), Mike Luby (Qualcomm Inc; co-chair), Thomas Richardson (Qualcomm Inc), Rüdiger Urbanke (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)

This workshop will concentrate on modern computational applications that likely could use codes as part of their solution, look more deeply into the requirements of those applications, and then see if existing coding technology is sufficient, or if coding technology with different properties needs to be developed. This workshop also aims to foster stronger interactions and exchange of ideas between the recent developments in this area in the engineering and theoretical computer science communities, such as polar coding, spatial coupling, sub-linear decoding, and computationally bounded channels.

Possible application areas of interest include:

  1. Content storage and delivery applications and challenges
  2. Peer-to-peer data distribution that is reliable and scalable
  3. Peer-to-peer content sharing applications, e.g., streaming and file sharing
  4. Intermittent connectivity and mobility, e.g., sharing data among mobile devices, automobiles, in deep space, etc.
  5. Concurrent path delivery, e.g., multiple LTE paths, WiFi, Broadcast
  6. Low power computing, e.g., computing below threshold where reliability is sacrificed for power savings
  7. Sharing data across time, i.e., storing and accessing data long into the future in reliable, simple and scalable ways
  8. High speed communication within devices, e.g., high speed buses, flash drives, etc.
  9. Data compression and processing on compressed data
  10. Security applications, e.g., the fuzzy fingerprint vault

Enquiries may be sent to the organizers workshop_inftheory1 [at] (at this address.)

Support is gratefully acknowledged from:

Invited Participants: 

Emmanuel Abbe (Princeton University), Venkat Anantharam (UC Berkeley), Alexandr Andoni (UC Berkeley), Elaine Angelino (UC Berkeley), Peter Bartlett (UC Berkeley), Guy Bresler (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), David Burshtein (Tel Aviv University), Viveck Cadambe (Pennsylvania State University), Mahdi Cheraghchi (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Daniel Costello (University of Notre Dame), Thomas Courtade (UC Berkeley), Marco Dalai (University of Brescia), Alex Dimakis (University of Texas, Austin), Lara Dolecek (UCLA), Cynthia Dwork (Microsoft Research), Michelle Effros (California Institute of Technology), Klim Efremenko (University of Chicago), Guy Even (Tel Aviv University), Moein Falahatgar (UC San Diego), Christina Fragouli (UCLA and École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Anna Gál (University of Texas, Austin), Parikshit Gopalan (Microsoft Corporation), Warren Gross (McGill University), Venkat Guruswami (Carnegie Mellon University), Thomas Holenstein (ETH Zürich), Cheng Huang (Microsoft Research Redmond), Ashkan Jafarpour-Koujahi (UC San Diego), Rahul Jain (National University of Singapore), Adel Javanmard (Stanford University and UC Berkeley), T.S. Jayram (IBM Almaden), Ravi Kannan (Microsoft Research India), Cari Kaufman (UC Berkeley), Ashish Khisti (University of Toronto), Victoria Kostina (Princeton University), Florent Krzakala (École Normale Supérieure Paris), P. Vijay Kumar (Indian Institute of Science and University of Southern California), Mike Langberg (University at Buffalo, SUNY), Lap-Chi Lau (University of Waterloo), Patrick Pak-Ching Lee (Chinese University of Hong Kong), Michael Luby (Qualcomm Inc.), Arya Mazumdar (University of Minnesota), Shannon McCurdy (UC Berkeley), Páll Melsted (University of Iceland), Olgica Milenkovic (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Andrea Montanari (Stanford University), Elchanan Mossel (University of Pennsylvania and UC Berkeley), Chandra Nair (Chinese University of Hong Kong), Huy Nguyen (Princeton University), Mesrob Ohannessian (UC San Diego), Alon Orlitsky (UC San Diego), Samet Oymak (UC Berkeley), Lior Pachter (UC Berkeley), Henry Pfister (Duke University), Dheeraj Pichapati (UC San Diego), Yury Polyanskiy (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Jaikumar Radhkrishnan (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research), Kannan Ramchandran (UC Berkeley), Gireeja Ranade (UC Berkeley), Meisam Razaviyayn (Stanford University), Thomas Richardson (Qualcomm Inc.), Benjamin Rossman (National Institute of Informatics), Anant Sahai (UC Berkeley), Eren Şaşoğlu (UC Berkeley), Ilan Shomorony (Cornell University), Paul Siegel (UC San Diego), Ali Sinop (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton), Emina Soljanin (Bell Labs), Chang Ho Suh (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology), Ananda Suresh (UC San Diego), Itzhak Tamo (Tel Aviv University), Li-Yang Tan (Columbia University), Emre Telatar (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), David Tse (Stanford University), Rüdiger Urbanke (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Ameya Velingker (Carnegie Mellon University), Sergio Verdú (Princeton University), Martin Wainwright (UC Berkeley), Carol Wang (Carnegie Mellon University), Mary Wootters (Carnegie Mellon University), Yihong Wu (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Sergey Yekhanin (Microsoft Research), Bin Yu (UC Berkeley), David Zuckerman (University of Texas, Austin).